Cardmaking, Halloween, Shaker Cards, Stamping

Trick or Treat Shaker Card

Happy Saturday!  I have a new card to share.  Halloween is just a little over 2 weeks away and I have been busy creating cards and treat containers which I’ll share in another post.  First though, one of the type of cards I have been really wanting to try is a shaker card.  Here is my first one, and it was so much fun to make.  I followed Jennifer McGuire’s instructions that can be found here.

Halloween Shaker Card 1

One of her secrets was to use inexpensive fun foam to give the extra room between the top layer of the card and the base, so the sequins move about easily.  It also makes the layer smooth versus having several pieces of dimensional pieces to pop that top layer up.

I used a card base of tangerine tango that measures 5 1/2 x 4 1/4 and the halloween paper on top is cut at 5 1/4 x 4 7/8.  This gives just a sliver of the tangerine tango showing.  I die cut a circle out of the halloween paper and then cut a circle 1 size larger out of the fun foam which is cut smaller so it fits behind the halloween paper.  So the fun foam size is smaller than the halloween paper but the circle die is larger than the circle die cut out of the halloween paper. The lime green paper is attached to the white fun foam panel so it shows through.

The awesome sequins I put in there were some that I purchased from Pinkstrawberryz’s, Etsy store.  It was a mix of sequins called Witches Brew.  I am having so much fun with this mix!

Well I am going to go back to crafting!  Have a great day and let me know what you are making today.  Thanks for stopping by!

Challenges:

Stamp Ink Paper Challenge 120

#TGIF129 Sketch Challenge

TGIF ThrowDown-007 badge

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Trick or Treat Shaker Card”

  1. So adorable Mary! I’m a sucker for a shaker! Jennifer McGuire does have so many awesome tips! I may be a tad bit addicted to her videos. lol Thanks so much for joining us at Stamp, Ink, Paper for our color challenge this week!

    Like

  2. Such a fun card Mary! That shaker is fabulous and I’m loving the use of all those ‘halloween’ colours! A fabulous use of this weeks sketch! Thanks for playing along and supporting us thi week at TGIF Challenges. Rochelle xo

    Like

  3. OO, this is a super cool shaker card. I love your choice of pattern paper and the placement of the bat. I think it’s all perfect! Thanks for joining along with our sketch challenge this week at TGIF. Smiles, Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

